Genetic classification of joints in chalk and their corresponding fracture characteristics

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingConference contributionpeer-review

2 Scopus citations


Joints representing different fracture episodes from Israeli chalks are being classified into three major tectonic stages in the Huttonian cycle. The three stages are: burial, syntectonic and uplift. Joint spacing, joint size and fracture surface morphology are among the criteria which are being used in this classification. New data on syntectonic joints from chalks in the Paris Basin are being presented. Characteristically, burial joints propagate horizontally, syntectonic fractures advance radially, and during the uplift stage fracture growth is vertically downward. -Author

Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationChalk:
Subtitle of host publicationInternational sypmosium
Number of pages8
StatePublished - 1990

Publication series

NameUnknown Journal

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • General Environmental Science
  • General Earth and Planetary Sciences


Dive into the research topics of 'Genetic classification of joints in chalk and their corresponding fracture characteristics'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this